top of page

[Step by Step] "HUMANOID" (part 1 - assembling) by Michal


Another "SBS" for you. This time will be huge, because the project itself is huge. Mini diorama in 90mm scale from Nuts Planet - "HUMANOID. I hope I will have energy until the end :) I am also counting on your comments and ideas, which I hope will help me to improve this project.

The first part may be boring for you. But I want that this "SBS" from start to finish to beat all the work. For the beginning we will look inside the box with the model and prepare it for painting.

"Humanoid" is a model in 90mm scale. The box is really big and stuffed to the brim by parts. It is larger than the standard boxes with models from Nuts Planet.

Inside we will find a kind of instructions and a list of all the elements.

At the beginning I have lot of thought on how to make the base. I decided to use cheaper black picture frame.

I've used unnecessary element of the photo frame. I pasted them to the edges of the frame. Frame secured against dirt using wide masking tape.

This is the scenic base, which is included in the kit. Is cast with the resin and does not require any additional processing.

Earlier I matched the position of the element on the photo frame. I glued itusing Super Glue.

I started adding additional elements to scenic base. I used a lot of parts collected by me on last years. Mainly, bits from the Kromlech company.

Empty space filled using Vallejo 26213 Pumice Grey tesxtue. Additional elements simply shoved into a mass without glue.

Vallejo - Textures of Sand, Earth & Stone

I left the base to dry for the next day. The layer of Vallejo tesxture was really thick.

I focused on the next elements of the model. I started from a huge robot hand. It's the main element of the whole diorama.

I've placed a hand on the base to see how it looks...

Next I've assembled the model of the dog.

Pin with plastic cord.

I also prepared a elements of two robots. These robots will lie crushed under a big hand.

At the end I assembled the 90mm robot figure. A large number of parts caused the whole preparation took me a lot of time.

All parts I've joined by metal pins and Super Glue.

Everything is ready for painting. Some elements are mounted on cork from wine. This will help me to paint them.

After drying and hardening of the Vallejo textureI;ve put on primer on the base. To do this quickly, I used black and white spray primers. I have not used those primers for almost 3 years! In this case it will be much faster than using the airbrush.

The whole base I've first painted black. After drying black primer I've used white primer vertically from above.

The next part of SBS will focuse on painting scenic base. All comments and ideas are welcome. Leave them in the comments section:)

Recent Posts
bottom of page